APSP Winners


(ALEXANDRIA, VA) – The Association of Pool & Spa Professionals (APSP) announces the winners of its 2018 APSP Awards Program.  The program recognizes prominent achievements and outstanding performers in the pool, spa and hot tub industry.  Being recognized this year are 75 pool, hot tub and water features in the design competition and 13 individuals recognized for their contribution to the aquatic industry.  One APSP Chapter earned top honors.

APSP Award winners will be recognized in the October and November issues of AQUA magazine and will be honored during the APSP Awards Reception, October 30, 2018 in Las Vegas, Nevada.  Individual photos of the award winners can be viewed atAPSP.org/AwardsGallery.

In its 48th year, the APSP International Awards of Excellence recognizes 75 outstanding pools, spas, hot tubs and water feature installations.  Hundreds of entries are submitted each year, representing member firms across the United States and around the world.  The award-winning companies and their installations can be viewed at APSP.org/FanFavorite.  Viewers can vote and share their favorite installation via social media.  Voting began on October 9 and runs through 5 p.m. EDT on October 26.  The winner of the fan voting will be announced Nov. 1.

Individual APSP professional honors recognize Stephen Neville, CBP, CSP, PPSO as the CBP Certified Pool & Spa Building Professional of the Year, Richard Woemmel, CBP, CSP as the CSP Certified Pool & Spa Service Professional of the Year and Brooke Rossi as the Retailer of the Year.

The rank of APSP Fellow is an honor given to prominent individuals who have made distinguished contributions that raise the professionalism in the aquatic community through teaching, research and/or exemplary service to others.  The 2018 Fellow Award recipients are:

  • Greg Garrett, Pool Chemistry Training Institute
  • Jason Schallock, CBP, CSP, Anderson Poolworks
  • Craig Sears, CBP, CSP, Sears Pool Management Consultants, Inc.
  • Jatinder Sidhu, Coast Spas Manufacturing, Inc.
  • Rebecca Smith, CSP, Splash Pool Management Co.

The 2018 Young Professionals of the Year Award represents forward-thinking leaders under the age of 40 who are positioned to be the voice of the next generation of pool ad hot tub professionals.  The winners are:

  • George Barnett, KB Custom Pools
  • Stephen Neville CBP, CSP, PPSO, Island Construction Corporation
  • Erik Taylor, Chlorine King Pool Service
  • Mallory Wachowski, DesRochers Backyard Pool Co.

The 2018 Chapter of the Year Award recognizes one outstanding chapter that has set a stellar example for the organization, advancing and enhancing the profession through strong leadership, community outreach and providing their members with the highest quality of programs, activities and services. The winner is:

  • APSP’s Georgia Chapter

“APSP is excited to be able to recognize and reward the pool and spa industry’s top achievers,” said APSP President & CEO, Lawrence Caniglia. “We have such talented members and are honored to be able to showcase their beautiful work and acknowledge their great achievements.”

For more information and to view award recipients, visit APSP.org/AwardsGallery.



About APSP

The Association of Pool & Spa Professionals (APSP) is the world’s oldest and largest association representing swimming pool, hot tub, and spa manufacturers, distributors, manufacturers’ agents, designers, builders, installers, suppliers, retailers, and service professionals. Dedicated to the growth and development of its members’ businesses and to promoting the enjoyment and safety of pools and spas, APSP offers a range of services, from professional development to advancing key legislation and regulation at the federal and local levels, to consumer outreach and public safety. APSP is the only industry organization recognized by the American National Standards Institute to develop and promote national standards for pools, hot tubs, and spas. For more information, visit APSP.org.

Leave a Reply

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close